Baekhyun’s Album “Delight” is Sweet, Spicy, and Fresh

I noticed typically Kpop idols (when they release solo work) they stick to a genre they’re familiar with, or the same genre as their groups. But more and more these idols have been branching out working on music that sound nothing like their group’s music.

On the other hand, typically K-R&B artists steer clear of the “idol” world. But now we see those two worlds slowly merge. More K-hip hop producers collaborate with idol groups and idols branch out to genres such as R&B and Hip Hop for their solo work.

Baekhyun is one of those idols who bridge the gap between both worlds seamlessly.

After the success from his first mini album “City Lights” Baekhyun went back to work and released an album that could be considered the brother album to “City Lights” in his new mini album “Delight”.

1. Candy

Sweet, sexy, and oh so smooth. Baekhyun’s honey vocals with the smooth R&B track make this song a gem. It’s catchy and the use of metaphors was supurb. The lyrics are witty, one of my favorite line is (English translation) “mature cinnamon, funny (dorky) mint”, I felt that line perfectly represents Baekhyun. Overall this track is addicting and after listening to this song once, I kept repeating “Pop Rocks, strawberry, bubblegum” all day and I don’t regret it.

2. R U Ridin’?

I love the base in the beginning, it definitely sets up the mood of the song. It’s the type of song you’d play while driving at night. It’s smooth with Baekhyun’s voice and it has a good groove to it thanks to the base.

3. Bungee

The piano in the beginning made me think this was going to be a lo-fi type of song, but it transitions into R&B. This song carries a similar feel to the songs in “City Lights”, it’s laid back. I love how Baekhyun already has a certain style in his voice and overall a sound that makes it uniquely him. Once again his voice is so smooth and the high note he hits in the bridge is spectacular.

4. Underwater

Vibes. This song is a vibe. Just listen to it and it’ll make you melt. His vocals will leave you speechless. I don’t have much to say about this track, just listen to it. It’s great.

5. Poppin’

This is one of my top favorite tracks from this album. It’s catchy and fun but it still keeps the groove and the whole mood the album has. I read a comment that said if Baekhyun’s song “Betcha” (from his previous album) had a son, “Poppin’” would be it. I couldn’t agree more. I found out August Rigo and Kenzie who were part of the writing team for “Poppin’” also worked on the song “Betcha”.

The pre-chorus is one of my favorite parts of the song. It’s been on repeat for me. I can’t wait to go on a long road trip and just blast this song with the windows down. Yes, it’s that type of song.

6. Ghost

This song is another one of my favorites. I feel like this track has a double meaning to it. It could be calling an ex a ghost (the feeling of something being absent) or that they are ghosting (not texting back, literally disappearing from someone’s life without reason). Baekhyun does a good job in expressing his emotion in this song.

7. Love Again

This song is slightly different from the others. It starts with a soft acoustic guitar. It’s slower and Baekhyun’s voice is deeper making this song feel personal. It’s a sweet song and it’s a nice way to close the album.

I’m sure Baekhyun had pressure to release an album that could follow in “City Lights” footsteps and I’m glad he delivered. “Delight” was literally a delight to listen to.

Baekhyun’s songs are about love, the emotions that come from loving someone (including the ups and downs and the pursuit of it).

After listening to his songs you can’t help but fall in love with his voice. His personality seeps through each of his songs, from the playful side of him to the more sultry mature side. This album is a treat and I recommend anyone to listen to it.


I talk more about KPOP on my channel

You can follow my Twitter HERE and my Instagram HERE.